Bike Race for Masters Age 45+: 6.7 miles

Bike Race for Masters Age 45+: 6.7 miles

I’ve been doing a fair amount of bike training this Spring, but have yet to do much speed work. This past Wednesday I entered my first club race of the year, and when the small pack of 7 riders fractured I bailed. Today was my first Open race which was called the NJ Masters Criterium Championship for riders ages 35-44, ages 45-54, ages 55-64, and ages 65+. Since I have a racing age of 53 this year, I had to enter the race for masters riders age 45 and over (one of the middle races). I didn’t expect to do well, and I had no real expectations as to how I would fit in. The race was supposed to last an hour – thus, it did not have a definite distance from start to finish. Turns out I stayed in the race for 6.7 miles which took about 15 minutes to complete and the average pace was over 25 mph. I strained my lungs a little, but not too bad. When I quit I merely departed from my position in the middle of the pack and made a right turn off the course to the parking lot where my car was. I wasn’t close to getting dropped, and I had no intensions of getting dropped. CLICK HERE to see the route.

This was a good race to be in since I got a nice perspective on where I stand fitwise, and I have a pretty good idea how I need to shift my training efforts so I will be competitive in a month or so.

This entry was posted in Ride Recaps. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

