Saturday Morning Solo Ride in MD: 130 miles

Saturday Morning Solo Ride in MD: 130 miles

This was an interesting ride. I’ve got some buddies who say it is an achievement to ride 100 kms where 75 kms have to be towpath-type terrain.  And today I completed a 210 km ride that was 100% towpath -type terrain. I wonder if that is even more of an achievement? Anyway, about today’s ride. It was a beautiful day for a ride. I brought along refreshments in a knapsack since I knew there would be no place to stock up on food and drink on the trail. Good thing I did because it was a long ride. I passed 5 beavers working in the canal during the early morning. I passed tons of turtles of all sizes in the canal. I almost rode over 3 large black snakes at least 4 feet long each in the afternoon.  The list goes on and on about the wildlife I saw. About 126 miles of the ride was in Maryland, the remaining 4 were in DC. I knew about the parking place where I started my ride because I used to jog from my home back in the late 80s and early 90s near Dupont Circle out Q Street to Reservoir St to Canal Street and the path. Then I’d jog along the towpath back into Georgetown before heading home. Parking was free today while I did my ride. It’s always been free at this place.

The first 12 miles or so of the towpath were pretty easy to ride. After that it wasn’t so fast. There were wet spots in the path which grabbed the bike tires and slowed things up. Then there would be a dry section, then a wet section. Sprayed a lot of mud on my bike and me, too. I thought about cleaning the bike at the turnout at mile 65, but decided against it. On the map you can see a little blip in the route at mile 102 or so. That is when I decided to clean the bike pretty good. I didn’t clean it perfect since it was going to get dirty again before I got back to the car. But it was caked in mud at mile 102. I was tired, and looking for something to give me an excuse to rest a bit. CLICK HERE to see the route.

This entry was posted in 62-Milers in 2015, Ride Recaps. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Saturday Morning Solo Ride in MD: 130 miles

  1. Ouch! 10 hrs 30 min in the saddle! And you had to drive home after that? I had a few long rides on unpaved roads this season (including a century) and did not find them that hard. Depends on the road, of course. Wet towpath should be difficult.

    actually the towpath you rode leads all the way to the town where Mary is working this summer 🙂

    btw I found a very nice route to Sandy Hook from Princeton area
    http://alwayseasygear.blogspot.com/2015/06/second-century-of-season.html

Leave a Reply

