A Hard Treadmill Workout

A Hard Treadmill Workout

For the past month or so I have been implementing what I call HiiT Treadmill runs into my workout schedule. In fact, they are the focus of my workout schedule now. Typically they include walking parts as rests before and after quick paced runs. Total time on the treadmill is 20 minutes, and the total mileage comes to about 2.5 miles. I like the following scheme:

1 minute @ 3.5 mph, 0 incline
2 minutes @ 10 mph, 0 incline
1 minute @ 3.5 mph, 0 incline
2 minutes @ 10 mph, 0 incline
1 minute @ 3.5 mph, 0 incline
2 minutes @ 10 mph, 0 incline
2 minutes @ 3.5 mph, 0 incline
1 minute @ 12 mph, 0 incline
2 minutes @ 3.5 mph, 0 incline
1 minute @ 12 mph, 0 incline
2 minutes @ 3.5 mph, 0 incline
1 minute @ 12 mph, 0 incline
2 minutes @ 3.5 mph, 0 incline

The treadmills I use only go up to 12.5 mph. So I expect to run out of options for the upper pace regarding the three one-minute intervals at the end of the workout. I don’t really see that as a problem, though. I can always increase the duration of the quick intervals and decrease the duration of the slow intervals. I can also tinker with the pace of the slower intervals (i.e., increase them). And, of course, I can always tick the incline up and up.

But for now, the above treadmill workout is hard for me. I can only fit three of them into my training week. I need many low intensity workouts in order to stimulate an active recovery effect between these hard sessions. And I always do these hard sessions after doing at least 90 minutes of low intensity workouts.

This entry was posted in Blog Ramblings, Fitness Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

