200K Calendared Rando Ride

200K Calendared Rando Ride

Cold day, but thankfully sunny. The brevet today started in Ephrata, PA and did a loop around the town of Lancaster. The temperature at the 7:30 am start was 15 degrees. I think it warmed up to something like 34 degrees by early afternoon. I was riding my 1987 Schwinn High Sierra with two panniers attached. Started out slow because I didn’t want to sweat too much. Wet clothes in cold weather is not a good thing. The first half of the ride was hillier than I was hoping for, but it wasn’t really all that bad. The first 22 miles I took it easy socializing with a large group of riders. I departed quickly from the first rest stop. I rode miles 30 to 60 (mostly) with three guys: Greg K, Joe R, and Steve S. They dropped me around mile 60 just before we got to the Susquehanna River. However, they stopped at a tavern to eat and warm up along the river and I just kept going. They never caught back up to me. Accordingly, I rode the entire back end of the ride alone. Click on the map of the route below to see it at RWGPS. CLICK HERE to see the results page.

This entry was posted in Blog Ramblings, Ride Recaps. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

