200K Calendared Rando Ride

200K Calendared Rando Ride

Well, March 25th finally got here and the third of 12 Pennsylvania rando rides I’m planning to attend/complete. Things seemed really neat for the preceding week because the weather forecast was for the warmest temps on this day – maybe a high of 70 sometime in the afternoon. However, it was a little chillier in the wee hours of the morning than I had expected – the ride departed at 6 AM in the dark. Nice size crowd of riders – something like 30+. In the rush to pick up another rider in Lawrenceville who wanted to ride I forgot to pack my knapsack that I was planning to use. So I rode the ride very light. Had the CX bike along. Felt so good to ride today. As usual I rode most of the ride alone. In the beginning I was drafting off the fastest three riders, but at about 2/3 of the way up the first hill (Hollow Rd, mile 29) I let them go on their merry way. I was caught by a group of 4 on the pedestrian bridge (mile 76) just before controle 4. I don’t make long stops at the controles, but these guys did. So I continued on and they caught me again not too far away from controle 5 (mile 99). They towed me along for about 12 miles and got me over a couple of little hills that I would have significantly slowed on if they had not been there to keep me honest. They dropped me just before Warren Rd and the downhill to controle 5. Again I caught them while they were eating at the controle and I kept going, not looking forward to the last series of climbs to the finish. I got to the end about a minute before them. I teased them that they must have ordered a round of desserts at controle 5 after I left. I ended up finishing the ride in 4th overall (9 hrs, 26 min) – not that it was a race mind you. Click on the map below to see the route at RWGPS. CLICK HERE for the results page.

This entry was posted in Blog Ramblings, Ride Recaps. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

