A Few Words about the ePA Fleche Results

A Few Words about the ePA Fleche Results

The preliminary results for the 24-hour team bike ride I did over the past weekend were posted online this morning. Of the 9 teams that started, only 7 finished within the 24-hour time limit. Of the 7 teams that finished, there was quite a split between longtime entrants and newbies such as my team. The starters on two of the teams on average have completed the Eastern Pennsylvania (ePA) event about 6 times. The starters on another two of the teams have completed almost 4 or 5 of the ePA Fleche events. Then there was one team whose members on average had completed just over 2 ePA Fleche events. That brings us to the two newbie teams with the following averages: 1.25 and 1. These guys basically finished this year’s event, but none before.

The downer statistic regarding this year’s ePA Fleche event was that out of 40 entrants that started the ride, only 30 (or three-quarters) finished the ride successfully. A quarter of the starters did not finish within the allotted time. Why was this? The weather was really pretty good for such an event. Not too cold. No snow or rain. Winds present, but not for the whole 24 hours. My hunch is it came down to poor planning, lack of fitness, and/or failure to check their bikes for proper maintenance. Oh well, I’m glad my team’s effort worked out well. We left little to chance. CLICK HERE to see the Preliminary Results for the 2017 ePA Fleche.

This entry was posted in Blog Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Few Words about the ePA Fleche Results

  1. Alex V says:

    well, we will read the ride report in a few days and will know what happened

  2. Alex V says:

    CJ Arayata’s team had a bad luck with the wind and 2 substantial mechanical problems. Dunno what happened with the Sins of the Fleche, because the team was composed of experienced riders and their course was generally simple and similar to our course. Slow start, and then they had to push against the wind, got behind the schedule and quit.

    The description of the DWG 300K pre-ride does not coincide with the published map. I asked them to clarify. Either the course will be different or 300 and 200k are messed up in the description. No worry, I guess they should correct the mistake soon.

  3. Bob T. says:

    Thank your lucky stars that your group had no real mechanical issues and the weather worked out. If your team had to go the other way, had 5 flats or if you or someone in the team had some serious stomach issues then the real rando world will come to life! That’s when you truly find out what you are made of. Congrats on completing your first fleche.

    • Thanks Bob for chiming in. And thanks for the congrats regarding my successful completion of the Fleche event two weekends ago. I’m not one to thank lucky stars, though. As I say in my post there are four issues at play when entering any distance cycling event, whether it be a race or endurance test. They are: 1.) the weather, 2.) planning, 3.) fitness, and 4.) proper bike maintenance.

      Last year my auto mechanic suggested to me that I needed new tires on my car. I said I would wait a little before getting new ones. He asked if I was going on a long drive in the near future. I said no. He said I’d be OK then. The point is, chances are very slim that you will get a flat tire if you use high quality new or newish tires when entering an event. Luck has little to do with avoiding flat tires unless you start your ride with low quality or older tires and finish without getting a flat or flats.

      With regard to mechanicals, proper bike maintenance goes a long way in ensuring against mechanical problems on a ride. So again, luck has little to do with avoiding mechanical issues.

      If my team had gone the other way we would have enjoyed more of a tailwind than we actually did. But the wind issue really only applies to the issue of fitness level. I will give you this – the weather is pretty much the only issue where “thanking my lucky stars” could come into play. The weather is so much out of our control. Don’t forget the issue of planning, though. Most of the weather issues can be planned for.

      You mention stomach issues. These can usually be planned for, too. Eat the proper food before and during an event and stomach issues are highly unlikely. I learned last year that I suffer from celiac disease. As a result, I have to be very particular about what I put in my mouth on a daily basis. And I have much fewer options for food when checking into a controle or rest stop compared to other riders. Planning, it’s all about planning.

      • Bob T. says:

        Hey Jeff, I guess you have been doing this a long time…… I hope you have a perfect year with no mechanicals and not get sick. There is a lot more that can get you sick than by putting stuff in your mouth. Bikes will break and you are going to get sick once in a while, you are only human, Have a great year!

Leave a Reply

