68-Mile Sunday Morning Group Ride from Etra

68-Mile Sunday Morning Group Ride from Etra

It was a nice morning for a bike ride. I hadn’t ridden since last Saturday since I’ve been kind of in a funk riding. Too much distance on the few rides I’ve done in the past three weeks. Needed a rest. The Princeton Freewheelers had a scheduled ride to depart from Etra Park (Hightstown, NJ) this morning at 9. I left the house at 8 to ride the Cinelli over to the ride, do it, and then ride home. There were probably 30 participants in the ride. Only about half of them did I know. I haven’t really been doing PFW rides much for the last three years.

Gary W and his wife lead the ride and strung together a bunch of roads I knew but had not done in the order they did them. The pace was pretty good, but I was not tracking it. I heard several riders say the average moving pace at the end of the PFW ride was just shy of 18 mph. I did not use my big chainring (53T) much, but I did a little. Mostly I just spun along in the 42. I was in the unfed state during the ride since I had not eaten since 4 PM yesterday. Since the ride was not fast for me, I was OK just burning stored body fat during the ride. Click on the map below to see the route at RWGPS.

This entry was posted in Blog Ramblings, Ride Recaps. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

